Blog Reflection

Currently, I am stuyding the use of social media in the classroom, and I have discovered some great things through reading and actual practice.  I am very grateful for the opportunity to build my social media skills before entering the classroom as a teacher.  Through my readings and use of social media, I have developed some professional opinions regarding the use of social media by educators.  It has been proven that social media such as Twitter can really benefit educators, and their development.  Social networking sites such as Twitter give a teacher the opportunity to collaborate with other professional, therefore building knowledge and their repertoire.  Good teachers can also implement sites such as Twitter into lessons.  After experiencing Twitter, I have also developed some opinions as well.  I find Twitter to difficult to navigate, and I have some trouble doing what I need to do.  i am sure I will become better with time, but it made me realize that although Twitter can be very beneficial to a teacher, many teachers may need training to ensure that they know how to effectively use it.

This practice has also given me the opportunity to develop some opinions regarding the use of social media by today’s student.  Our reading shows that social media sites such as Twitter give the student the chance to collaborate with other students, discover new information, and practice teamwork through effective communcation skills.  I agree with this information, and believe that social media has a place in today’s classroom.  I think sites such as Twitter can give a student amazing opportunities that they would not recieve in traditional education.  However, speaking from a student’s perspective, many students may also have trouble navigating through social media sites, and would also need training to ensure that they can effectively utilize sites such as Twitter.  I am very excited to learn more!

Leave a Reply

